Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson

Expert Areas: K-12 science and science education, three-dimensional science unit development, formative assessment and grading, student engagement, growth mindset, classroom learning culture, content literacy strategies, inquiry instruction, science curriculum & assessment, concept development, integration of math and science, analysis of student work, and mentoring


Professional Career

Diane Johnson was a high school science teacher for 25 years and finished her 30- year career as Instructional Supervisor for Lewis County schools in Kentucky. During that time, Diane trained as a Master Teacher through a NSF grant, was a state-wide science writing resource teacher at KDE, served as a board member, secretary and president of KSTA, sat on numerous state committees, co-authored three chapters in Active Chemistry!, and has been a national trainer for the Assessment Training Institute.Since retiring, Diane serves as a Regional Teacher Partner with PIMSER, assisting hundreds of K-12 science teachers across Kentucky with implementation of the NGSS. Additionally, Diane is a member of the Science Peer Review Panel for Achieve, part of NSTA’s cohort for Professional Learning, a NSTA Instructional Coach for Three-dimensional Teaching and Learning, on NSTA’s Retired Educators Advisory Board and works with a team of educators through a MSP with the University of Louisville on developing NGSS-aligned classroom embedded assessments. She received the Sherry Fox Distinguished Service to Science award in 2015.


Degrees and Certifications
Bachelor of Science, Biology (Minor: Chemistry), Morehead State University
Master of Science, Biology, Morehead State University
Master in Educational Leadership, Principalship and Instructional Supervision, Morehead State University
Doctoral Candidate, Science Education, University of Kentucky


Awards and Associations 
Achieve Peer Review Panel for Science Instructional Materials, 2016 – 2018
Sherry Fox Distinguished Service to Science Award, 2015
Kentucky Academy of Science, Outstanding Secondary School Teacher, 2003
NSTA Regional Program Chair; Louisville, 2002-2003
KSTA Past-President, board member, 1991-2003
Toyota International Teacher Program, Summer 1999
Tandy Technology Scholar, 1995-96
Mathematics Education Service and Achievement, 1995
Outstanding Senior High Teacher at NE KY Regional Science Fair, 1992
Ashland Oil Teacher Achievement Award, 1990